Cottage Hill Elementary

Skip to main content
Welcome to Cottage Hill, home of the Cubs!  
Mrs. Kimberly Butcher » Home

Home

Welcome to the Cottage Hill Library!!!

Classes go to the library for 30 minutes each week. Library visits begin with a story or library skills games led by our library clerk. These games reinforce how to care for books and how libraries work.  We also discuss how books are arranged in the library using the Dewey Decimal System. 
 
In February, our school participates in the Higgins Diggins Lions Club's month long literacy program. Students from the first through the fifth grades will be racking up AR points for an entire month to earn entries for a drawing to win a $50 gift card to Best Buy. We are very fortunate to be a part of this wonderful program. This is a good opportunity for students to earn AR points for the semester as well.
 
All students participate in the “California Young Reader Medal Award” program. Each year, a committee of librarians and teachers select a few children’s books for review. These books are then read to the students. The students vote on their favorite book at the end of those five weeks. The author of the winning book receives recognition, letting them know that children in California liked their book the best. Children look forward to each spring, when they get to vote for their favorite book.
 
We work hard alongside parent helpers to coordinate two book fairs each year. This is a vital fundraiser for our school. These funds earned at book fair are used to purchase new books, supplies, and prizes throughout the school year. We have recently surpassed our previous goals and have been able to use that money to purchase books for teachers' classroom libraries, as well as books for students to take home. Reading is truly fundamental! 
 
If you want to know if we have a certain book in our library collection or if you're looking for a particular author or subject, you can find it using Library Researcher. Library Researcher is the online database that shows all of the books in our collection. It is a very helpful tool!
 
I do my best to make sure that our library carries books that children not only want to read, but I also point them in the direction of books that help develop critical thinking. Our library collaborates with teachers and staff to encourage students to develop a lifelong love for reading. 
 

Recent Posts

 

THE BEAR AND THE PIANO

 

OFFICIAL LINKS

Author
DavidLitchfieldIllustration.com

Publisher
Frances Lincoln

WRITTEN AND ILLUSTRATED BY DAVID LITCHFIELD

Published by Frances Lincoln, 2016

2018-2019 Nominee - Primary

SYNOPSIS

One day, a young bear stumbles upon something he has never seen before in the forest. As time passes, he teaches himself how to play the strange instrument, and eventually the beautiful sounds are heard by a father and son who are picnicking in the woods. The bear goes with them on an incredible journey to New York, where his piano playing makes him a huge star. He has fame, fortune and all the music in the world, but he misses the friends and family he has left behind. A moving tale of exploration and belonging from an exciting debut author-illustrator.

 

I DON'T WANT TO BE A FROG

 

OFFICIAL LINKS

Author
DevPetty.com

Illustrator
MikeBoldt.ca

Publisher
Doubleday Books for Young Readers

WRITTEN BY DEV PETTY
ILLUSTRATED BY MIKE BOLDT

Doubleday Books for Young Readers , 2015

2018-2019 Nominee - Primary

SYNOPSIS

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father! Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

 

 

 

IF YOU EVER WANT TO BRING AN ALLIGATOR TO SCHOOL, DON'T!

 

OFFICIAL LINKS

Author
EliseParsley.com

Publisher
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

WRITTEN BY ELISE PARSLEY

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2015

2018-2019 Nominee - Primary

SYNOPSIS

The first hilarious story in the New York Times bestselling Magnolia Says DON’T! series about a charismatic kid who’s got a terrific knack for terrible ideas!

Note to self: If your teacher tells you to bring something from nature for show-and-tell, she does not want you to bring an alligator! But nothing will stop Magnolia, who’s determined to have the best show-and-tell of all–until her reptilian rapscallion starts getting her into some major trouble. Now it’s up to Magnolia to find a way to send this troublemaker home–but what could possibly scare an alligator away?

 

 

 

MOTHER BRUCE

 

OFFICIAL LINKS

Author
RyanTHiggins.com

Publisher
Disney-Hyperion

WRITTEN BY RYAN T. HIGGINS

Disney-Hyperion, 2015

2018-2019 Nominee - Primary

SYNOPSIS

Bruce the bear likes to keep to himself. That, and eat eggs. But when his hard-boiled goose eggs turn out to be real, live goslings, he starts to lose his appetite. And even worse, the goslings are convinced he's their mother. Bruce tries to get the geese to go south, but he can't seem to rid himself of his new companions. What's a bear to do?

 

 

 

SAMSON IN THE SNOW

 

OFFICIAL LINKS

Author
PhilipStead.com

Publisher
Roaring Brook Press

WRITTEN AND ILLUSTRATED BY PHILIP C. STEAD

Roaring Brook Press, 2016

2018-2019 Nominee - Primary

SYNOPSIS

One sunny day Samson, a large and friendly woolly mammoth, encounters a little red bird who is looking for yellow flowers for her mouse friend (whose favorite color is yellow). As she flies off with the flowers, Samson wonders what it must be like to have a friend. He wonders this for so long, in fact, that he falls asleep and wakes up to a world covered in snow. In the midst of a blizzard, Samson finds and shelters the little red bird and flower-loving mouse in a tender tale of kindness and unexpected friendship.

 

The California Young Reader Medal program, established in 1974, introduces young readers in California to a variety of book genres and formats, gives them an opportunity to honor their favorite books and authors, and develops and cultivates a love of recreational reading.

The CYRM committee encourages California students to read, read, read!  Each year, students, teachers, and librarians send recommendations of their favorite books to the CYRM committee.  The committee members read the nominated books and then meet to discuss the merits of each book and their appeal to children.  Finally, the committee decides upon a well-balanced list of nominees.  Students from all over the state have the opportunity to read all the nominated books in a category and vote for their favorite. 

There are five categories for students to consider and for which books may be nominated:

Primary (Grades K-3)

Intermediate (Grades 3-6)

Middle School/Junior High (Grades 6-9)

Young Adult (Grades 9-12)

Picture Books for Older Readers (4th Grade and up)

California children and teens can read the nominated books from May through March and vote for their favorites. Teachers and librarians introduce the nominees, often in exciting and innovative ways. They provide ballots for voting, compile vote totals, and submit results to the CYRM committee. CYRM ballots must be postmarked by April 1st of each year. Winning titles are announced on May 1st on the CYRM website.

The authors and illustrators of the winning books receive their CYRM awards at special ceremonies held annually at the state conferences of each sponsoring organization. Local students are selected to present the
bronze CYRM medals to the winners.

The interest and enthusiasm shown by the young readers of California clearly demonstrates the effectiveness of the CYRM program.

Dear Cottage Hill families,
 
This year my heart is full when I think of all of the ways you brighten up my day with a smile and a kind word. I am also thankful for the volunteers who help support our library and lent a hand during book fair. I want to say thank you to all of you who purchased books and goodies at our Enchanted Forest Book Fair. Thanks to all of you we sold over $6600.00 worth of books! We were able to purchase books for all of our classroom libraries! We will now be able to update our non-fiction section, add brand new titles to our fiction and picture book categories, and purchase supplies for repairing books. Thank you for supporting our school! Reading is fundamental! 
 
We hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday with your loved ones!
 
I want to express my gratitude to all the volunteers who shared their time during book fair week! You rock! It was a pleasure to work alongside you. Thank you for your kindness and hard work! 

You can shop online right now!

Even though our on campus book fair does not begin until Monday, 10/15, you ARE able to shop online right now! There are hundreds more book titles available, shipping to school is free, and you are still supporting our amazing school! Check it out!
 

New Library Hours

Dear friends,
 
Many of you may have noticed that our library hours are different this school year. We are no longer open for puzzles, free play, and checking out books at second lunch. This is because we now have classes at that time. Our kindergarten classes, 1st graders, and 2nd graders come for storytime and lessons.
 
The library closes at 1:24 P.M. on Mondays - Thursdays and 12:54 P.M. on Fridays. Thank you for making note of this year's new schedule.